Wednesday’s tidbits

Jessica and I have been attending a study on the Psalms called The Cry of the Soul led by our pastor, Mike Sharrett. This has only been our second week and God has been so gracious to remind me of how dull and bland my taste buds are for the divine. Filled with, prayers, poems, and songs the book of Psalms is a record of God’s invitation to the divine and Israel’s response. This can also be said of the Church’s response throughout redemptive history. One reason why this book has been so loved and admired is because of its ability to evoke right affections about a holy God. Concerning emotions the Psalms exhaust the full breadth and expression of human emotions that it is no wonder John Calvin calls the Psalms, “an anatomy of all parts of the soul.” For those of you who have heard my murmurings about being in Lynchburg the Psalms have helped me move my focus from self to the One “who makes the mountains melt like wax” and “preserves the lives of his saints. – Ps. 97” Praise be to God!

In Luke 24:44 Jesus states that, “These are my words that I spoke to you while I was still with you, that everything written about me in the Law of Moses and the Prophets and the Psalms must be fulfilled.” What a privilege and a blessing it is to see the face of Christ revealed throughout the Psalms. Jessica and I are looking forward to this study….

Leave a Reply

