Music to my Soul

I recently bought an album from Red Mountain Church called Help My Unbelief. I typically am not hard to please when it comes to music but it’s been a long time since I’ve bought an album that has been both creatively pleasing to the ear and satisfyingly soothing to the soul when in it comes to its lyrics. I try to reserve my ears to music that I can relate to and also that can direct my emotions towards God. This album does just that! I’m usually content with a song as long as it has a decent beat or tune and isn’t too biblically vague. The songs on this album are from the Gadsby’s Hymns which were written back in the mid 1800’s. Red Mountain church has since added some creative modern arrangements to most if not all the songs. The theme for this album deals with doubt and longing and for the Christian these times are bound to come considering we live in a battle. Help My Unbelief I have found easy to listen to both in my leisure time as well as during my quiet times with the Lord. Praise God for the incredible gift of song! Below is one of my favorites!

It Is Finished – Part II (Hark, the Voice of Love and Mercy)
Taken from the Gadsby Hymnal #93
Words: Attributed to Jonathan Evans, 1784 & Benjamin Francis, 1787.

Hark, the voice of love and mercy,
Sounds aloud from Calvary!
See, it rends the rocks asunder,
Shakes the earth and veils the sky!
“It is finished, It is finished,”
Hear the dying Savior cry.

“It is finished,” O what pleasure,
Do these charming words afford.
Heavenly blessings, without measure,
Flow to us from Christ the Lord.
“It is finished, it is finished,”
Saints the dying words record.

Finished all the types and shadows,
Of the ceremonial law;
Finished all that God had promised;
Death and hell no more shall awe.
“It is finished, it is finished,”
Saints from hence your comfort draw.

Tune your harps anew, ye seraphs;
Join to sing the pleasing theme;
Saints on earth and all in heaven,
Join to praise Immanuel’s name.
Hallelujah! Hallelujah!
Glory to the bleeding lamb!

Leave a Reply

