Thoughts this Valentine’s Day

Ah yes, Valentines Day (aka Singles Awareness Day) is soon to be here! I have always been intrigued by this holiday: Rose petals, romantic cards that play little tunes, wordy love letters, the colors red and pink splashed everywhere, rose selling advertisements, the chick flick wall at the local video store, the 4 aisles of Valentines gifts at Walmart. You just can’t get away from it. I walked in my fiancé’s parent’s house and as I was on my way upstairs I was surprised to be met by a trail of cut out hearts made out of construction paper leading to the kitchen where I ran into a dangling strip of heart shaped lights at the entrance of the kitchen.

Although generally skewed in its definition of love this holiday does attest to the worlds eagerness for intimacy and love. I felt it during my single days and now from an engaged point of view. The most romantic evening Jess and I have ever experienced on this side of our relationship was the night I proposed. I had three dozen roses, tea lights spread through out my apartment, Norah Jones helping me out with the music. During the proposal I mentioned a brief but concise explanation of Christ and the Church. Being careful not to over allegorize I described how much more clearer my love, appreciation, and understanding of the Gospel has been through our relationship. Since then everything has seemed to connect with Christ’s love for the Church even Valentine’s Day. Believe me I am not trying to over spiritualize Valentine’s Day as for the most part I am still fairly apathetic to the holiday itself.

Jess and I plan to spend some time together today. I am learning what it means to study and romance my “soon to be”. Although this Valentine’s Day may not be as romantic as the night I proposed we will be reading Ephesians 5:22-33 as a short reminder of Christ the true romancer. “This mystery is profound, and I am saying that it refers to Christ and the church.” –Chp. 5:32

Leave a Reply

