Gathercole on the Pre-Incarnate Jesus

An interesting theological topic that I would like to explore more is the pre-incarnate Jesus within the gospels. The synoptic gospels speak very little about the pre-incarnate Jesus and the trinitarian role He has between the Father and the Spirit. I was first exposed back in 2004 to this issue when I was at seminary listening to the lectures below. I was quite amazed at how young Gathercole was. In these lectures Gathercole argues from the “I have come” sayings within the synoptics. The Southern Baptist Theological Seminary has posted his lectures on this issue.

Simon Gathercole is currently a lecturer in New Testament studies at The University of Cambridge.

Below is an excerpt on his research interests:

“My main academic interest is the interpretation of the New Testament. Having begun as a classicist and also worked in the field of early Judaism, I am particularly fascinated by the connections between the New Testament and the literature contemporaneous with it. My principal theological interests are christology, and the doctrine of the atonement. I am currently writing a commentary on the Gospel of Thomas.

I would be particularly interested in supervising doctoral research in Pauline studies, the christology of the Gospels, and extra-canonical Gospels.”

The lectures below are introductory to his book The Preexistent Son: Recovering the Christologies of Matthew, Mark, and Luke.

Nov. 10, 2004
“The Synoptic ‘I Have Come’ Sayings of Jesus and Pre-Existence” Part 1

Nov. 10, 2004
“The Synoptic ‘I Have Come’ Sayings of Jesus and Pre-Existence” Part 2

Nov. 10, 2004
“The Synoptic ‘I Have Come’ Sayings of Jesus and Pre-Existence” Part 3

Nov. 15, 2004
Sin in God’s Economy: Agancies in Romans 1&7

Nov. 15, 2004
The Petrine and Pauline Sola Fide In Galations 2

(HT: JT)

One thought on “Gathercole on the Pre-Incarnate Jesus

  1. Pingback: Book Review: Bart D. Ehrman, Jesus Interrupted « Near Emmaus: Christ and Text

Leave a Reply

