Time Wasted Away

Apart from church, Sunday was sadly an unproductive day for me.  My plans were set on trying to finish a couple of books that I’ve been working on but instead I laid in bed trying to take my so called “Sunday nap” and then later trying to figure out how to work this whole WordPress deal.  It really is amazing how we go through life not realizing how much time is not spent on things that are not beneficial to our souls.  Today was not a bad day after all as if I spent my whole day watching episode after episode of CSI (one of my favorite TV shows).  Although I was somewhat careless of the time that was given to me.  After all it is right and healthy for us to understand that time is a gift and should be stewarded well while here on earth.  I mean my afternoon and evening, give our take 7-8 hours is time that I will never get back.  Now I should probably mention that Sunday’s are a time for rest for the believer so there is absolutely nothing wrong with naps on the Lord’s day granted you really need it but me trying to figure out WordPress for 3 hours is quite funny and a little sad.  Jonathan Edwards has reminded given me a much needed reminder concerning my time.

5. Resolved, never to lose one moment of time; but improve it the most profitable way I possibly can.

48. Resolved, constantly, with the utmost niceness and diligence, and the strictest scrutiny, to be looking into the state of my soul, that I may know whether I have truly an interest in Christ or not; that when I come to die, I may not have any negligence respecting this to repent of. May 26, 1723.

Leave a Reply

