Some Helpful Advice on Writing

I have not always been a writer.  In fact I still do not consider myself a real writer per se although I do want to improve on this skill.  I often tell friends that I wish I had more of an appreciation for writing earlier in my years.  As the old adage suggests “practice makes perfect”.  Although I can’t even fathom perfection at this point considering I still get confused as to when to use a semicolon I still think that every Christian should take the time to practice his or her writing abilities.  One reason is that writing or in this day and age typing allows the person to express in readable form what the mouth can’t adequately say at times at least in the spur of the moment.  

Writing allows you to think through your thoughts and effectively organizes them.  We all don’t have recorders but we all have pens and pencils and most of us have some type of access to a computer.  With all the instricate details of the heart and how God has wired us why wouldn’t we want to express our experiences of our Savior.  Lest you think I’m getting all mystical on you my point is that writing has a way of giving a more precise expression of the heart if done well.  In my case I hope writing serves me well by allowing me to romance my wife whether through poems or a simple note on an index card, which I have not done in a while.  Well, there you go another benefit is that reminders come about just like writing a love note to my fiancee, which I plan to do tomorrow.

Andree Seu has given some helpful advice on writing in a post at Boundless.  Click here to read the whole article.

Excerpt:

Good writing is confident and lean. Compare the first sentence of this essay with an alternative: “There are perhaps many helpful tips for writing, but in my opinion, one of the most helpful may be to try to fit everything you have to say into an essay of approximately 800 words.” Zzzzzzzzzzz. You’ve already gone to the kitchen to make “s’mores,” right?

 

Replace generalities with vivid details (“gone to the kitchen to make ‘s’mores'” is slightly better than “gone to the kitchen for a snack” — which is hands down better than mumbling about the reader’s “waning interest”). “Brief fame”: forgettable; “15 minutes of fame”: a keeper. And if Abe Lincoln had said “Many years ago,” instead of “Four score and seven years ago,” he’d have been right that the world would “little note nor long remember.”

 

Thou shalt not resort to clichés. Thou shalt not hold out for the “best” of all leads — a good lead will do. Thou shalt not try to produce the definitive piece on St.Patrick — a helpful one will do. Thou SHALT use parallelism from time to time, to spice things up.

Leave a Reply

