Justification is Infinitely Important

One thought on “Justification is Infinitely Important

  1. ::PIPER IS THE MOST AMAZING PREACHER ALIVE:: ::I OWE SO MUCH OF MY INSIGHTS INTO BIBLICAL GODLINESS TO PIPER::

    ::I LOVE PIPER::

    But I’m afraid I disagree with Piper here, when he says that “Getting justification right is a matter of eternal life and death.” I had no idea what justification was when I first got saved. I thought my baptism was going to usher in my forgiveness, I didn’t understand the Trinity or even realize there was a Trinity, and I thought you could loose your salvation (which means you keep it by your ‘performance’), and I had to work through all sorts of false ideas during that time and after and still.

    Luther beleived that the sacrements were salvific and ushered in justification, and he didn’t believe in double imputation.

    Calvin didn’t believe in double imputation.

    St. Augustine believed precisely that our Spirit-Enabled works would justify us on the day of judgment.

    The Pre-Reformatin church followed Augustine’s doctrine of justification.

    Do we really believe that Luther, Calvin, Augustine and the Pre-Reformation church more or less were not really Christians trusting in the mercy and grace of God just because they didn’t beleive in justification the it’s taught in the Reformed Confessions?

    ::JOHN PIPER FOR SCB PRESIDENT:: ::PIPER FOR NEW PROTESTANT POPE:: ::PIPER FOR US PRESIDENCY::

Leave a Reply

