True Womanhood

John Piper’s message last night at the True Woman’s conference is now available: The Ultimate Meaning of True Womanhood. For those of you who are not familiar with this conference you can read about how it all started here.  The True Woman conference exists in order to help women:

  • Discover and embrace God’s created design and mission for their lives
  • Reflect the beauty and heart of Christ to their world
  • Intentionally pass on the baton of Truth to the next generation
  • Pray earnestly for an outpouring of God’s Spirit in their families, churches, nation, and world

At the conference they have also proposed a True Woman Manifesto calling women to sign and commit their lives as God has designed for women to live.  Below is an excerpt from John Piper’s talk.

My aim in this message is to clarify from God’s word the ultimate meaning of true womanhood, and to motivate you, by God’s grace, to embrace it as your highest calling. What I will say is foundational to the “True Woman Manifesto” which I regard as a faithful, clear, true, and wise document.

The Opposite of a Wimpy Woman

I would like to begin by stating one huge assumption that I bring to this task tonight. I mention it partly because it may give you an emotional sense of what I hope you become because of this conference. And I mention it partly because it explains why I minister the way I do and why this message sounds the way it does.

My assumption is that wimpy theology makes wimpy women. And I don’t like wimpy women. I didn’t marry a wimpy woman. And with Noël, I am trying to raise my daughter Talitha, who turns 13 on Saturday, not to be a wimpy woman.

Leave a Reply

