Voddie Baucham Gives His Take on the SBC and Calvinism

voddie_baucham02

Voddie Baucham is currently preaching pastor of Grace Family Baptist Church in Spring, TX .  I have recently found out that he runs a blog called Truth in Love.  I first heard Baucham preach on the Passion 2000 DVD and actually come to think of it, it was around the same time when I first heard John Piper (Boasting Only in the Cross) preach since he was also one of the speakers.  Ever since hearing them both I have greatly looked up to both men for their stand for truth and their knack for crossing denominational fences.

Well, if you didn’t know Voddie Baucham is a proud Southern Baptist one of whom I am pleased and excited to see in the SBC.  In a recent post Baucham gives his perspective on Calvinism in the Southern Baptist Convention in light of the recent John 3:16 Conference.  He is a bit forward and comical at some points and  to my worthless opinion I think he is right on in his assessment. I hesitated to link this at first as I did not want to add to the apparent tension within the SBC, even if I do not get much traffic on my site, but I thought it would be worth while to get another perspective from one of the “rising leaders” among the Southern Baptist denomination.  Sorry, I try not to use that type of “rising leader” vernacular but I couldn’t think of anything else.  I have pasted a couple of excerpts from him below.  Be sure to read the whole post.

Voddie Baucham:

However, neither of these constituted fatal infractions.  I co-sponsored an education in 2004, but preached at the SBC in 2005.  I stood against YM for years and while many were uncomfortable, I was still part of the gang.  That is, until I came out of the closet.  No… I’m not gay. It’s far worse than that.  I’m a Calvinist!  That’s right, I’m a fire-breathing, TULIP believing, five-point Calvinist.  That, my friends, is the unpardonable sin in contemporary Southern Baptist life (unless your name is Al Mohler and you’ve been President of the flagship Southern Baptist Theological Seminary since you were in your early thirties and happen to be the most intelligent, articulate, winsome public face the Convention has).

Another excerpt:

Calvinists can be an easy target when it comes to evangelism and baptism. Never mind names like Augustine of Hippo, Martin Luther, John Calvin, Adonirum Judson, William Carey, Charles Spurgeon, Richard Baxter, Matthew Henry, John Bunyan, George Whitefield, Jonathan Edwards, Arthur Pink, Boyce, Andrew Fuller, Luther Rice, J.L. Dagg, Daniel & Abraham Marshall, D. Martin Lloyd-Jones, J.I. Packer, Ian Murray, D.A. Carson, John Piper, James White, Tom Nettles, Tom Schriner, Tom Ascol, Timothy George, Mark Dever, and Al Mohler. The strawman (who doesn’t believe in evangelism because he believes in election) that was beaten about the head and shoulders at the John 3:16 Conference is a much easier target. Can you imagine that conference with the living members of the aforementioned list sitting there defending themselves? I’d pay a pretty penny to see that!

Instead, guys like White get hammered for not believing in evangelism while out doing evangelism! Good thing we’re protecting the Convention from the likes of him. If not we might start having bus tours with slogans like “Everyone Can”. Convention leaders with churches that boast memberships of 10,000 when their actual attendance (resident, participating, regenerate, ‘real’ members) is well under 2,000. Or fire engine baptistries to coax children into the sacred waters (Paige Patterson called this “blasphemy” right before calling Southern Baptists “some of the worst paedo-baptizers there are”). If we don’t rid ourselves of guys like White, we may end up adding a category in our baptismal reports for “Under Age 6,” or have a pastor join the Youth Ministry at the beach and have himself and staff ‘re-baptized’ in an effort to ‘prime-the-pump’ and get the baptismal numbers up for the annual beach retreat (true story!). Or who knows, if the likes of James White are not stopped, we may have non-Trinitarians like T.D. Jakes come and teach at our conferences.

Read the whole post here.

(HT: Hammer and Nail)

Leave a Reply

