I Deleted My Facebook Account Today!

delete_1

And yes I actually deleted it and not just deactivated my account.  I think the Facebook phase in my life has now passed just like Saturday morning cartoons.  Taking a step back I kind of think the whole concept is a little weird.  I’m not clownin’ or condemning anybody who does have an account afterall my lovely wife still has hers up.  I’m with F. Beckwith on this one…“the phony intimacy of the whole thing just creeps me out.” I mean seriously…I’m (Facebook) friends with Al Mohler and Mark Dever?  🙂

12 thoughts on “I Deleted My Facebook Account Today!

  1. Pingback: ‘I deleted my Facebook account today!’ | The Daily Scroll

  2. Pingback: ‘I deleted my Facebook account today!’ : Sic et Non

  3. I guess you can put it that way. I actually almost titled the post Facebook Suicide but decided not to at the last moment.

  4. Wow… I didn’t even know that was an option. I have seriously been contemplating calling it quits with facbook myself. For the life of me I’ve never been able to “get” facebook. Yeah, I understand it… but it has just never worked for me. So, maybe I’ll join you in pulling the plug.
    Cheers
    _ryan

  5. It’s funny to me Jonathan, that your sister has deleted her facebook account also … but she still uses myspace.

    Through myspace and facebook, I’ve actually had several opportunities to give witness to my conversion experience to Christ. People e-mail me and ask what’s going on. People want to call me and talk. This leads to opportunities to share my answer to their question, “So … what happened to you?!? How in the world did you become a minister?” Also … Once I got in touch with some of these people, I was able to meet up with them in person and chill.

    So … From my perspective, whether facebook or myspace should or should not be deleted depends on things like … what your using it for … whether it’s too much of a time sucker for the little relative payoff it gives … whether its causing you to desire things you shouldn’t desire … etc.

  6. Brad,
    It is funny that my sister still has MySpace. Now that I come to think about it she is pretty up and down with Facebook but not with MySpace. She also hasn’t deleted her Facebook account just deactivated it. I’m not entirely sure when she’ll reactivate it.

    I’m encouraged to hear of the opportunities that you have had to be a witness of the Gospel. If for one purpose to keep social networking than that would be it.

    You are right that it does depend on some of the things you have brought up. For me it came down to one less thing hanging out there in the air. In other words I found myself less and less on Facebook and decided to delete it since I already had most everyone’s contacts. My desire to keep up with Facebook just fizzled out. It wasn’t that I was consciously trying to rid myself of Facebook because it was a time sucker. Facebook just became of little interest to me just like “Saturday morning cartoons”. It served it’s purpose well for me for that period of time but I didn’t feel like it was something I needed to keep up with right now. Who knows there may come a day when Facebook will be something of a necessity and maybe then I’ll decide to create a new account but I don’t think we are anywhere near that point.

    I want to make clear that there is nothing wrong with using Facebook after all its where I got to know my beautiful wife (this could have been done through email too and it eventually did).
    -Jonathan

  7. Shame on you Jonathan! After facebook brought you a beautiful wife, to turn around and bite the hand that feeds you! You have forgotten where you’ve come from! (jk)

  8. Pingback: Some New Updates to the Blog (03.07.2009) « The Crimson Window

  9. I did the same thing
    I began deleting friends that I added on that well weren,t really friends..then went on a deleting craze that didnt stop until my entire profile was oblitereated..kind of like a cleansing ritual..

    lol..it feels good to be off there..I feel unique again..

  10. I just went on a so-called deleting rampage. It felt good. It is the first step in getting completely off the ‘book’. I am writing down contact information for the 50 friends I still have, so I can at least remain in touch. Pretty soon I will be fully unplugged.

Leave a Reply

