The Tangled Knot of Sin

tangled

Sharon Hodde:

I used to think of my sin as a single thread of yarn woven into my heart. If I could just pinpoint the thread and grab hold of its end, I could pull it right out. Like a loose string on the hem of my dress.

Over time I have come to see my sin differently. Now, I see my sin not as a single thread, but as a tangled knot. As soon I tug on one thread, I realize it’s tied to another. And the more I try to detangle them, the more knotted they all become.

The human heart is complex, and I’m learning the importance of acknowledging that complexity. Otherwise, I slip into overly simplistic categories of self-understanding that are both unhelpful and misleading.

Read the rest here

Leave a Reply

